Pres. Tinubu To Reintroduce Telecom Tax On Nigerians To Meet World Bank Loan Condition

Date: 07-05-2024 4:48 pm (1 week ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 7-05-2024 04:48 PM (1 week ago)

President Bola Tinubu’s government is considering lifting the suspended telecom tax and other fiscal policies on Nigerians to secure a new loan of $750 million from the World Bank

According to a document published by the World Bank, the EMT levy on electronic money transfers through the Nigerian banking system, along with other taxes, is also being considered, in addition to the reintroduction of excises on telecom services.

Mr Tinubu suspended the five per cent excise duty on telecommunications and the Import Tax Adjustment levy on certain vehicles in July 2023. However, the document revealed that negotiations were underway between the World Bank and FG to secure the yet-to-be-approved loan.

The document said, “Domestic Revenue Mobilisation drive in the government ARMOR program seeks to increase revenue on some targeted industries and sectors of the economy. Specific groups and agencies within affected sectors include the Association of Licensed Telecom Operators of Nigeria: The introduction of excises on telecom services requires that all telcos are mobilised to fully participate in the collection of such revenue.

“Committee of Bankers: Introduction of EMT levy on electronic money transfers through the Nigerian Banking System would need the buy-in of all banking institutions.”

It noted that the Manufacturer’s Association of Nigeria (manufacturers of tobacco products, sugar-sweetened beverages and alcoholic beverages) that would be required to collect excises on their products “are critical stakeholders” for the introduction of the new excise regime.

Posted: at 7-05-2024 04:48 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 7-05-2024 06:07 PM (1 week ago)
Nonsense criminals, I said it that the masses always pay for their mess. Useless leaders
Posted: at 7-05-2024 06:07 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- blowout at 7-05-2024 06:33 PM (1 week ago)
By the time city boy is through with this country, Nigerians will be running to Malawi.
Posted: at 7-05-2024 06:33 PM (1 week ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 7-05-2024 07:28 PM (1 week ago)
Nawa. He's insatiable. Shylock of our time.

Posted: at 7-05-2024 07:28 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- kacylee at 7-05-2024 07:45 PM (1 week ago)
na wa oooo.. the masses are in for it.. Shege promax plus loading

Posted: at 7-05-2024 07:45 PM (1 week ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 7-05-2024 09:03 PM (1 week ago)
But people why are u complaining? why?  if na UK una dey pay tax u won't complain!! go Florida!! for Miami everything is tax!! even table water!!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 7-05-2024 09:03 PM (1 week ago) | Grande Master
- ifrica at 8-05-2024 12:52 AM (1 week ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  7-05-2024 09:03 PM
But people why are u complaining? why?  if na UK una dey pay tax u won't complain!! go Florida!! for Miami everything is tax!! even table water!!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
You most be a fool and half for comparing people paying taxes in the UK,  Florida and  Canada to the situation in Nigeria.
In all the Western nations names you have dropped,  the people sees the results of taxes paid and the benefits of doing so. Your dead man walking Jagaban Nigeria, is all about thief from the people,  grab it and run.
Posted: at 8-05-2024 12:52 AM (1 week ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 8-05-2024 10:26 AM (1 week ago)
Quote from: ifrica on  8-05-2024 12:52 AM
You most be a fool and half for comparing people paying taxes in the UK,  Florida and  Canada to the situation in Nigeria.
In all the Western nations names you have dropped,  the people sees the results of taxes paid and the benefits of doing so. Your dead man walking Jagaban Nigeria, is all about thief from the people,  grab it and run.

you must be VERY stupid and evil to think you won't pay taxes and live a free life!! listen up even if your country is corrupt YOU MUST STILL PAY TAX!!!  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-05-2024 10:26 AM (1 week ago) | Grande Master

1. Angela Okorie Shades Zubby Michael For Attending Junior Pope’s Burial

2. They Have Come O - Daddy Freeze Tackles Pastor Eneche Over His Never-ending Bag of Rice Story

3. Our Bag of Rice Refused to Finish After Paying Tithe From it - Pastor Eneche of Dunamis Claims

4. Korra Obidi: Fans Request Refund of Donations After News of Dancer's Hawaii Vacation Leaked

5. VIDEO: Oritse Femi Publicly Declares Himself ‘Godfather’ to Wizkid, Davido and Burna Boy

6. Portable Rewards a Fan Who Made Clothes For Him With a Sewing Machine (Video)

7. Nigerian Businessman Reveals Secrets To Building An Estate Without Capital (Video)

8. Nigerian Man Shares a Video of Him Celebrating His Birthday While Locked up in Kirikiri Prison

9. Two Nigerian Men & Kenyan Woman Arrested In Nairobi For Suspected Drug Trafficking (Photos)

10. Army Rescues 386 Women & Children From Sambisa Forest After Decade-Long Captivity (Photos)

11. 11-Year-Old Girl Rescued From Her Abusive Uncle In Aba (Photos)

12. Staying Alone as a Single Lady is a Sign That You're IRRESPONSIBLE -Lady Stirs Reactions Online

13. Paramount Ruler, HRM Ogwong Okon A. Abang Kidnapped In Akwa Ibom Amid Surge In Abductions

1. Atiku Abubakar Signals Support For Peter Obi's Potential Presidential Bid In 2027

2. Peter Obi Pays Heartfelt Condolence Visit To Family Of Late Actor Junior Pope (Photos)

3. Truck-BRT Collision Causes Chaos At Ibafo Bus-Stop Along The Lagos-Ibadan Expressway

4. UN Hails Nigeria's Strides Under Tinubu Administration; Stakeholders Laud Renewed Hope Agenda

5. Tension In Abuja Market As Traders Beat Two Soldiers Mercilessly Over Mobile Phone (Video)

6. Lagos Hotel Showcases 'Most Advanced Room In W/Africa' That Costs Over 1M Per Night (Video)

7. Oleksander Usyk Defeats Fury To Become The Undisputed Heavy Weight Boxing Champion Of The World

8. Saudi Arabia Makes Fashion History With First Swimsuit Fashion Show

9. 'Caroline Danjuma Was Legally Married To Late Tagbo’ – Oritsefemi

10. "You Will Regret It If You Relocate From Nigeria For Greener Pasture" - Femi Emmanuel (Video)