My first pregnancy experience

Date: 29-05-2010 2:01 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 29-05-2010 02:01 PM (14 years ago)
Childbirth is a thing of joy to every married woman. As soon as a woman is married the next thing is for her to start thinking about having a baby because its the joy of motherhood. But it does not come so easy from the first day of pregnancy till the child is born. Saturday Sun asked some women to relate their experiences at their first pregnancy and this is their response.

Jerrian Bassey
My first pregnancy experience was not funny at all. I lost it. The day I was supposed to see my menses, I did not see it. On the third day I had stomach upset and I thought it was going to come but to no avail. I started eating so frequently even at midnights. I was also taking ice blocks. My husband must get it for me from anywhere.

There was a day we did not have soup and my husband knew eat at midnight so he bought milk and bread and the younger brother used it to prepare tea for himself. When I became hungry that night, my husband said he bought tea for me and we started looking for it only for his brother to say that he used it. I cried my eyes out that night, but later, I soaked garri and drank. That Sunday, I went to church, visited some friends, came back and slept.

On waking up I had headache. I went to the hospital and they said my BP was high so the doctor referred me to LASUTH. I could not see my doctor and I did not know that the one attending to me was a student doctor. By the time I went the upper week, I saw my doctor and after examining me, he said my child was dead. They induced me to bring out the baby and that was how I lost my first pregnancy.

Favour Peters
The first three months of my pregnancy was hell. It was then I knew what my mother went through and to tell you the truth, I have never stopped praying for my mother since then. I was feeling dizzy and weak for three months. Throughout my pregnancy period, I was eating fufu with local soup and tea. My greatest pain was that my husband was not around to pet or pamper me. I was in labour for two days. It was by the grace of God that I put to bed. I was sleeping while pushing my baby. The midwife being a born again Christian told the other nurse not to disturb me. They started praying for me. When they ended, they gave me hot tea. After taking it, she asked me to push and I did that still pushing. When my baby came out, his face was blocked with catarrh. It was not an easy experience but I thank God that I won the battle.

Ogana Lilian
It was a sweet and painful experience. Although I was very happy to think that I was pregnant for a man I loved. He was there for me. He provided all that I needed. Fortunately for me, there was money for me to buy whatever I felt like eating. Funny enough, I became addicted to eating Agidi and pepper soup and my husband was buying virtually whatever I demanded. What I enjoyed most was how he was always placing his ears on my tommy to feel the baby’s breath and the sweet things he was speaking to the baby. However the sickness and vomiting made me uncomfortable. I was also afraid of knowing when I was due to deliver. But at the end nobody told me I was in labour and I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl.
Angela Mmadupue
I didn’t know I was pregnant only that my tummy was paining me. I went to meet the Yoruba people and bought “agbo”. I was taken it until I realized I did not see my menses. My Bosom  started paining me and I went to the hospital and the doctor said I was almost two month pregnant. I started having signs, vomiting, excess spitting, dizziness and weakness and slept so much. I lost apetite. At about 7am the next day, we went to the hospital and I stayed there till 4pm when I gave birth to a bouncing baby boy. Initially when I was in labour i refused to remove my clothes and the doctor told me that when the time comes I would be the one to pull my clothes.

When it was time for the baby to come out I started shouting and removed my clothes and started walking naked and wear it again when contraction stops. When the baby’s head was still not showing the doctor then gave me hot injection and immediately it entered my baby came out.

Chioma Udeagbara
For three month I did not get close to the kitchen because if I do I would be fainting and once I smell the aroma of the food they were preparing I won’t be able to eat. I was eating once in a while in a restaurant. It was my husband sales boy that was going to the market. My first experience was not funny. I had a prolonged labour. I was mad. I gave birth on 11th and on the 16th night I stooled till daybreak. In the morning we went to the hospital and I was in labour from 9am till 5pm before I delivered.

Ajuzie Goodluck
I dreamt where I was plucking fruits and I knew I had taking in. My first pregnancy experience was so wonderful adding to the fact that I was never sick for a day till I put to bed. I was so strong that I did not bother to visit the doctor for anti-natal until it was 7 months. I was so energetic that I was playing ludo game all through and the funniest aspect of it was that the people I was playing with would be tired and I would still be strong . I didn’t vomit, spit. I was not dizzy or weak till I delivered a bouncing baby girl. Even the labour was not prolonged. Within 1hr I had delivered.

Chika Ekechukwu
I was expecting to be pregnant, so when I noticed I was, I started feeling weak, vomiting and having constant headache. After three months it all stopped and I thought I was going to start enjoying, I never knew it was then that the main work started. After five months the baby started kicking. I was finding it difficult to eat but my husband was always there to assist me. Before he goes to work, he would make sure that I ate, but I was not having the apetite. When the baby started moving, the joy came because anytime it is kicking I would call my husband who would rush to feel the movement with joy and smiles written all over his face.

He would be asking the baby “how are you” and other sweet things he would be telling her. I registered for anti- natal at 5months. At 9months, on the 28th June 2006, contraction started at about 2am. At 9am the next day we went to the hospital and the doctor told my husband to go to work and I was alone bearing the pain till about 6pm. When the labour persisted and the contraction became constant I was taking into the labour room. I pushed three times with all my strength and the baby came out. It was a bouncing baby girl.

Uche Chiwuzie
My first experience was unforgettable. I was not expecting to be pregnant that month after meeting with my partner, but after a while my tummy kept turning. I kept asking myself what could be wrong with me when I was supposed to see my menstruation. When it did not come I went to see a doctor and I was told I was pregnant. I was so happy. Then came the symptoms, dizziness, headache, vomiting and tiredness. On the day of delivery It was horrible and unbearable for me as it started by 5pm and I delivered the next day by 8am. It was a baby girl named Ebere.

Abigail Akuneziri
When I noticed I was pregnant I started vomiting immediately. I always felt weak. Anytime I entered a vehicle I would vomit in the bus until I get to my destination. For three month I was not eating because I would vomit as soon as I perceive the aroma of food and Iose appetite. I appreciate my husband for all the care he showed to me during my pregnancy period. He made sure I didn’t
lack anything. So when labour came proper I rushed to the hospital when I noticed pains on my lower abdomen. When I got to the hospital I was admitted by the doctor who administered all manner of injection and on the third day I put to bed a bouncing baby girl.

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:01 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:06 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:06 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 29-05-2010 02:11 PM (14 years ago)
I hear it is better experienced than read.......so I will wait till when my time comes!

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:11 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:16 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:16 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- qunodinga at 29-05-2010 02:21 PM (14 years ago)
very soon i will tell u
Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:21 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:27 PM (14 years ago)
ok.. ur guy never score goal

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:27 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 29-05-2010 02:29 PM (14 years ago)
My first wasn't bad...I just push them out...I had twins..they doing pretty good.it was so easy
I didn't felt any pains @all.

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:29 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:30 PM (14 years ago)
listening

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:30 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 29-05-2010 02:32 PM (14 years ago)
My love ...u was there na which one be I am listening?

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:32 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:35 PM (14 years ago)
my heart...hahaha u no say dat day fear no gree make i enter labor room

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:35 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- qunodinga at 29-05-2010 02:47 PM (14 years ago)
make me pass
Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:47 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 29-05-2010 02:51 PM (14 years ago)
time don reach wen i go dey collect N20 frm all these passers

Posted: at 29-05-2010 02:51 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- wunzie at 29-05-2010 03:05 PM (14 years ago)
He needs to fulfil the following before i agree to get pregnant for him:

1 Propose to me inside Harrods after a 10 hours shopping.

2 He has to put a diamond ring on it.

3 He must be willing to wait for me to get  certain things out of my system before we marry.

4. Once we get married, he must be willing to take me to paradise for our honeymoon.

5. He must agree to once in two weeks intimacy.

6. He has to be willing to wait for a while before i get pregnant.

7. He must agree that it's ok with him for us to have just a child because i want to keep my figure.

8.  He has to agree to go for male sterilisation or whatever it's called after i put to bed.

9.  He has to promise to give  our child the world.

10. He has to promise that he will not mess around with any other woman.

Posted: at 29-05-2010 03:05 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 29-05-2010 03:09 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: wunzie on 29-05-2010 03:05 PM

3 He must be willing to wait for me to get  certain things out of my system before we marry.

4. Once we get married, he must be willing to take me to paradise for our honeymoon.

7. He must agree that it's ok with him for us to have just a child because i want to keep my figure.

8.  He has to agree to go for male sterilisation or whatever it's called after i put to bed.

day dreamer!! pls wake up cos no man will approve all these hefty request

Posted: at 29-05-2010 03:09 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Miss_precious at 29-05-2010 03:20 PM (14 years ago)

na wa oo babe..wetin dey hungry you,, dem never manufacture am

i wish you all the best

Posted: at 29-05-2010 03:20 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- esonu at 29-05-2010 03:28 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 29-05-2010 03:28 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- wunzie at 29-05-2010 04:31 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Miss_precious on 29-05-2010 03:20 PM

i wish you all the best

Amen!

Posted: at 29-05-2010 04:31 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Miss_precious at 29-05-2010 06:39 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: wunzie on 29-05-2010 04:31 PM

i wish you all the best
Amen!

Grin Grin

Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:39 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moneyinbrakemi at 29-05-2010 06:43 PM (14 years ago)
Go well___
Posted: at 29-05-2010 06:43 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- iyke1 at 29-05-2010 08:28 PM (14 years ago)

i wish you all the best
p foget she go don get baby.....no be 2day her type full town  Undecided
Posted: at 29-05-2010 08:28 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming