The desperation to travel out of Nigeria (Page 2)

Date: 01-12-2009 8:20 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9
- Agatex at 3-12-2009 12:34 PM (14 years ago)
that one na there own wahala, Nigeria is my home and i go survive and make my money here and travel abroad for holiday & enjoyment not to go and suffer.
Posted: at 3-12-2009 12:34 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Akinbells at 3-12-2009 07:19 PM (14 years ago)
All because there is no quality of life in Nigeria, no water, no power, no road, no health system (no access to basic of life necessities) Why are we living?
Posted: at 3-12-2009 07:19 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- macgreat at 3-12-2009 08:04 PM (14 years ago)
E don tay Jor. . . Guy, no be today!

Posted: at 3-12-2009 08:04 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Olukris at 3-12-2009 10:50 PM (14 years ago)
Its not worth it. I have travel round the world on official duties spending a month sometimes. At present doing a master programe outside Naija. There is no place like home, I can assure you. It does not worth it. I am not staying here even a day after my program. I love my country even as it is and ready to do my best to make it better.
Posted: at 3-12-2009 10:50 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ebony_cutie at 4-12-2009 12:58 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Olukris on  3-12-2009 10:50 PM
Its not worth it. I have travel round the world on official duties spending a month sometimes. At present doing a master programe outside Naija. There is no place like home, I can assure you. It does not worth it. I am not staying here even a day after my program. I love my country even as it is and ready to do my best to make it better.

we seriously need that your best in 9ja.....
Posted: at 4-12-2009 12:58 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- oike at 4-12-2009 12:41 PM (14 years ago)
NA WA OOOOO.our blessing is so much dt,it has been configuured into a curse....
Posted: at 4-12-2009 12:41 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- superg at 4-12-2009 01:03 PM (14 years ago)
which one is my own? any one can go wherever he wants to go, provided they get whatever they want and if they can't get it, its their own cup of tea.
Posted: at 4-12-2009 01:03 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- chik001 at 4-12-2009 07:23 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Olukris on  3-12-2009 10:50 PM

It worths every minutes of it if you are legally imigrant. some people came expecting miracles like in naija movies. In the area of education and self enhancement is easily achievable here. can you imagine living in a place where you dont have to worry about electricity , water, gas interruption, good road and stable educational and trasport system ,

what I like so much about here is , you dont have to be a millionair to live life.
A place where at this time of the year, prices of things are affordable, in most places buy one and get one or two free.

Posted: at 4-12-2009 07:23 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mylyfhys3 at 5-12-2009 12:46 PM (14 years ago)
Please elucidate what you are trying to get at. They should not travel but stay and work under you so you can pay them a drop in the basket naira?
Posted: at 5-12-2009 12:46 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- black_samurai at 5-12-2009 12:53 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: mylyfhys3 on  5-12-2009 12:46 PM
Please elucidate what you are trying to get at. They should not travel but stay and work under you so you can pay them a drop in the basket naira?

So you think even here they are not going to work under someone?

The thing is that some nigerians that ven got things going good for them there, still wants to come here. Some sell their shops, leave their well paying jobs, careers etc to be here, whereafter they get disappointed.

Posted: at 5-12-2009 12:53 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- mcpat at 5-12-2009 06:28 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on  1-12-2009 08:20 PM

The desperation on the part of many Nigerians to travel out of the country is believed to have reached an alarming level in recent times.

And indeed Vanguard Metro’s visit to some embassies in Lagos revealed scenes of absurdity involving many Nigerians, both young and old, desperate to flee their country at the slightest opportunity.

At all the embassies visited there was almost always a crowd of visa seekers jostling and fighting desperately under the sun or rain to be attended to. To them, the visa they seek is as important as the Holy Grail, which explains why they are prepared to sacrifice anything, including their dignity, comfort and personal safety in their quest for it.

This development only goes to confirm that all the campaigns and other efforts by government and its relevant agencies to discourage Nigerians from travelling out of the country on flimsy grounds have so far come to nought.

What Vanguard Metro saw in one of the African embassies located at Sinari Daranijo Street, Victoria Island was astonishing and unbelievable. It was a Thursday and it was raining heavily when Vanguard Metro got there at about 5.45am. Yet the number of visa seekers was over 300 and the applicants had been divided into two queues with the first one being for first time travellers, work and study permit applicants while the other queue was for corporate clients, frequent travellers, transit and medical visa.

“How did these people get here this early?” queried a fellow who was a first time visitor to the place. Another fellow who identified himself as Tope had responded thus: “For anybody to be among the first 20 on these lines, the person must have been on the queue by 4.00am”.

This was a shocking revelation which was confirmed by another visa seeker by name Ajayi. According to him: “I have been trying my luck for the past one week, only to be getting here by 6.00 am and meeting many people. I then requested for a friend to bring me down here in his car yesterday and we slept in the car to make our being on the line by 4.10 am this morning possible”.

Also easily noticeable were the ubiquitous touts as they went about rendering one service or the other and collecting money from desperate applicants. The Police were not left out as officers and men from the Maroko and Bar Beach Police Stations used the opportunity to make brisk business for themselves as they were seen arresting and searching people and ‘penalising’ those “with questions to answer”.

he too long naw u won kill me?

Posted: at 5-12-2009 06:28 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jegzy at 5-12-2009 07:53 PM (14 years ago)
wow God help naiaj dats all i can say!

Posted: at 5-12-2009 07:53 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- obietrizzy at 5-12-2009 10:51 PM (14 years ago)
the government has not be so kind to us....it is not only that they ve failed us but has killed us
Posted: at 5-12-2009 10:51 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- adeneigh at 5-12-2009 11:08 PM (14 years ago)
forget get about this issue.......it have been like that over a very long time....find another one to discuss
Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:08 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- blings_is_back at 5-12-2009 11:18 PM (14 years ago)
ok newbie
Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:18 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- 9jaemperor at 5-12-2009 11:19 PM (14 years ago)
I left 9ja not quite long. now Im in US. Everything is different here, as the matter of fact, its direct opposite of what Im used to at home. good roads, no power cut, clean environment, no police illegal arrest, no carrying bucket searching for water, shopping malls at every 5 miles or less, no queue at the gas station, good education system (u dont have to wait many years for JAMB, within two weeks, universities have been calling my number for admission, even today, also offering financial aid, i beg which college in 9ja would do that?), etc etc etc. Too me is not a desperation, grass is actually greener at the other side especially here.
Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:19 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- 9jaemperor at 5-12-2009 11:21 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: blings_is_back on  5-12-2009 11:18 PM
ok newbie

why d pix, u too wan travel or what?
Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:21 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- blings_is_back at 5-12-2009 11:25 PM (14 years ago)
yea i wan travel go ZION
Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:25 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- meczytimber at 5-12-2009 11:46 PM (14 years ago)
if dem go who go reply

Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:46 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blings_is_back at 5-12-2009 11:52 PM (14 years ago)
ask google
Posted: at 5-12-2009 11:52 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9