Burna Boy Talks Fela Comparisons, South Africa Comments & More As He Covers GQ Magazine (PICS)

Date: 04-03-2020 9:38 pm (4 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 4-03-2020 09:38 PM (4 years ago)

Burna Boy now tagged the ‘Global Giant’ by GQ Magazine got featured on the Spring/Summer issue, showcasing his iconic style. Photographed by Prince Gyasi, Burna Boy talks to the publication about music, authenticity, and letting the world cross over to him.

On his Grammy Nomination:
My uncle ran into my hotel room screaming that I was nominated. We were all so happy.

On Fela as an Inspiration:
Fela is my inspiration and my childhood hero, so if you think comparing me to Fela is honourable, it’s actually not. It actually makes me feel weird. Fela was Fela, and if it wasn’t for Fela, there probably wouldn’t be any me, so I don’t understand the comparison.

On the Xenophobic Violence in South-Africa:
It’s all just very phyuked-up and twisted, and I wish to God that it wasn’t so, but it is, and all I can do is try and do my part to change it, no matter how small that part is. It’s almost as if the oppressors have won when the oppressed start acting like this.
My family is Africa, which is why you will hear me speaking on the South Africa issue, which is why it strikes a nerve. It’s almost like having your whole body, and your hand is not working. That’s what it feels like.

There’s too much going on in the world for everybody to just care about being phyuking rich and phyuking Instagram-clouded; everybody can’t be that. The more of that there is, the more the world suffers, and what’s important just goes down the drain and the downward spiral continues. It’s even accelerated. Now is the time. Everybody should wake the phyuk up. South Africa and the whole of Africa needs to wake the phyuk up.

On Uniting Africa with Music:
The reason for everything I do and how I do it is for one goal and one goal only, and that’s the eventual unity of Africa. One day we’ll have one passport, one African currency, one Africa. Then and only then will my mission be complete.

But that’s why I’m going to keep on fighting for it, and that’s why I’m going to keep pushing this message in my music. Because I want my children and their children to be proud to be African, to own a part of Africa. What I don’t want is for my children to still feel like foreigners in their own home.

Check out the stylish Global Giant!

CLICK HERE TO VIEW MORE PHOTOS

Posted: at 4-03-2020 09:38 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Mlarge at 26-05-2022 11:47 PM (1 year ago)
Michael Michael uwem populary known by his stage name as mlârgè ml is an upcoming Nigerian hip hop rapper, Afro beats singer, songwriter, stage performer, recording artist and a music producer. He is currently signed to sarki music gang. He was born in 2002 in Calabar, cross River State in the south southern part of Nigeria. He is currently 18 years old. He is very handsome, gifted, skillful, aynd creative and talented. Mlârgè ml whose real name is Michael Michael uwem grew up in Calabar, cross River State in to a Christian family, where he completed both his primary and secondary School education and obtained both his first School leaving certificate and West Africa senior school certificate. Mlârgè ml lived his early life in Calabar rapping in street and school at a very tender age. Mlârgè ml while still in school moved on to create his own musicians  group and not so long until he had a manager
Posted: at 26-05-2022 11:47 PM (1 year ago) | Newbie
- Mlarge at 26-05-2022 11:50 PM (1 year ago)
Michael Michael uwem populary known by his stage name as mlârgè ml is an upcoming Nigerian hip hop rapper, Afro beats singer, songwriter, stage performer, recording artist and a music producer. He is currently signed to sarki music gang. He was born in 2002 in Calabar, cross River State in the south southern part of Nigeria. He is currently 18 years old. He is very handsome, gifted, skillful, aynd creative and talented. Mlârgè ml whose real name is Michael Michael uwem grew up in Calabar, cross River State in to a Christian family, where he completed both his primary and secondary School education and obtained both his first School leaving certificate and West Africa senior school certificate. Mlârgè ml lived his early life in Calabar rapping in street and school at a very tender age. Mlârgè ml while still in school moved on to create his own musicians  group and not so long until he had a manager
Posted: at 26-05-2022 11:50 PM (1 year ago) | Newbie

1. 5 Soldiers Reportedly Killed, Others Injured As Bandits Attack Military Camp In Katsina

2. Delta State Aide, Ossai Ovie Faults Actor Zubby Michael's Choice of Outfit To Jnr Pope's Burial

3. Meet The Little Girl Who Got N21m Scholarship After Scoring 100% In Mathematics Competition

4. BasketMouth Ex Wife, Elsie Reveals Why She Wont Go Back to Hubby, Warns Those Advising Her to

5. Mohbad's Dad Replies Wunmi After She Blamed Him For Mohbad's Autopsy Test Failure

6. PHOTOS: Influencer, Nickie Da Barbie’s Regains Freedom From Kirikiri Prison After 2 Weeks

7. Okonjo-Iweala Reacts to Whatsapp Message Claiming She’s Helping Tinubu Woo Investors to Nigeria

8. No One Should Be Jailed For Using Or in Possession of Marijuana - US President, Joe Biden

9. VIDEO: Portable Shows Off Wads of Cash After His Release From Police Net Over Unpaid Car Debt

10. Photo of Edima, Young Lady Who Was Killed & Dismembered By Her Boyfriend, Elisha in Akwa Ibom

11. Romantic Moment Saskay's Boyfriend, Derin Gifted Her a Diamond Jewelry For Her 24th Birthday

12. Many Trapped As One-Storey Building Which Served As Warehouse Collapses in Minna (Photos)

13. US-Based Nigerian Doctor, Funke Afolabi-Brown Becomes First Black Woman To Own Sleep Clinic

14. Occupants Count Their Loses, Three Siblings Rescued As Fires Razes Building in Delta State

15. EFCC Declares US-Based Nigerian Man, Somoto Anozodo, One Other Wanted For Fraud

1. Man Caught Shoving Nozzle From Petrol Pump Up His Bum While Stroking His Member At Fuel Station

2. Peter Obi Visits Atiku in Abuja as Speculation of Unified Front For 2027 Elections Intensifies

3. Never Relocate to These Two Countries Even If Their Visa is Free - Lady Sternly Warns Nigerians

4. Afrobeat Singer, Burna Boy Opens Up Amid Rumours He Can’t Have Kids, Gives Reasons

5. Nigerian Journalist, Reuben Abati Pens Lovely Note To Wife On Their 4th Wedding Anniversary

6. Naked Daughter’s Picture: Simi Berates Police Over Counseling Comment

7. Portable Breaks Silence Hours After Being Arrested By The Police

8. "I Regret Opening Up On Weight Loss" - Real Warri Pikin Laments

9. Burna Boy Framed Davido And Wizkid’s Picture In His House, Sparks Outrage

10. See Mercy Johnson & Other Actors' Reactions As Veteran Actress Liz Benson Stormed Movie Set